top of page
  • Writer's pictureMihnimalist

Best Pens For Lettering

I received my first brush pens exactly 1 year ago today, the Tombow Dual Brush Pens. Today I'm going to share my favorite pens for those who are just starting out with lettering, or those who are looking for some new pens.


First up: Tombow Dual Brush Pens, my favorite brush pens. I keep my Tombows in a rack like this:


Tombows are my favorite because they come in so many colors and they last a long time. Sure, they do eventually begin to fray, but they have been very reliable. I also like these because they are water based, so you can blend them to create beautiful gradient lettering. They also have the regular pen/marker side, which I like to use for drawing small details or thin shadows in my pieces.


Overall, Tombows are great for beginners or for the more experienced letterers, so I highly recommend them.


Next, the Faber-Castell brush pen. I like this one because it creates slightly smaller strokes than the Tombows, so it is good for some variation. This pen seems to fray slightly more than the Tombows, but... it comes with two tips! If one brush tip is getting frayed, you can just pull it out and flip it for a new, second tip! I've never seen something like this in a brush pen before, so that's one of my favorite things about the pen.



The Pentel Touch brush pen. This type of pen comes in several different colors, and the tip is smaller than the Faber-Castell pen. I like using this pen for smaller projects, such as thank you cards or practicing in my moleskine notebook. I'd recommend this pen for people who are looking to focus on smaller pieces, like notebook headers, small prints, or cards.

One of my faaaavorite pens, brush or not, is the Molotow liquid chrome pen. I have the 2mm, but they come in several different sizes. it's perfect for, again, smaller projects. I love this pen because of the chrome...obviously. I use this pen for monoline lettering, or lettering with no change in the thickness of the strokes. I recommend the Molotow for anyone: beginner, advanced, or just looking for a cool new pen.


Lastly is the Posca paint pen. I also use this pen for monoline lettering, usually when I want to letter on darker paper. Since it's a paint pen, you can write on any color paper, even black or dark gray (my favorites). They also come in multiple sizes, but I have the 1.3mm. I also recommend this for anybody, experienced or not. They are just super great for any type of drawing or lettering, on any paper.



A pen comparison

These are all the pens that I would 100% recommend for anyone wanting to start lettering or looking to expand their pen collection. Share this post to your friends who would enjoy lettering! (Tags: #lettering #brushpen #pens #pencollection)


-Mihnimalist

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page