top of page
  • Writer's pictureMihnimalist

Sakura Micron Pen Review

Have you ever considered using Sakura Micron Pens for drawing, taking notes, or using in lettering projects? If so, I'm here to help you decide if Mircrons are right for you!


Micron pens are basically fine-line ink pens, usually used for drawing. They come in 9 sizes, one of which is a brush pen.


Image Credit: Amazon.com

Pros:

What I like about Microns is that they come in several different sizes. This makes it easy to choose what size I want to use for the specific project I'm working on.


These pens also feel nice to hold. They're not to thin or too thick, but this is based on personal preference.


The brush pen is nice-but only for the first couple uses. I like the size of the brush, and I also like how the brush itself is not so stiff (like Tombows, for example). This forces me to practice controlling the brush since it is less firm than other brush pens I own.



Cons:

One con for the Microns is that they kind of fade if you erase over them. When I do my lettering projects, I always do them in pencil first. After I go over it in pen, I have to erase the pencil marks from before. If I do my final draft in Microns, the black fades so it's never as bold as I'd like it. If this isn't a problem for you, or if you don't have the need to erase over the Microns, I'd highly recommend it for you.


Lastly: the brush pen. This pen started to fray only after a few uses, which I was pretty disappointed with because I was excited to use it. I don't really recommend the brush pen to anyone who does lettering on a daily basis.



Overall, I think the Micron pens are great for taking notes or drawing, if you have no need to use an eraser over them. Personally, I don't like to use them in my lettering projects, but they are one of my go-to pens for my planner. I never use the brush pen anymore, but it could be great for someone who is planning to use it to practice control.


Thanks for reading! What's your opinion on Sakura Micron Pens? Let me know in the comments! (Tags: #micron #review #pens #penreview #drawing #lettering)


-Mihnimalist


29 views0 comments
bottom of page